Girl Geekette dotNet

Where the Girl Ends and the Geekette Begins


Archive for June, 2003

PayPal Scam from Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41

And yet another email (this time, most likely Hicks93@Prodigy.net ?) claiming to be from paypal. This one was soliciting ‘inactive customers’ that will be removed in 3 months if you do not log in with you name and password. Once again, it is bogus. Even though it CLAIMS to be from service@paypal.com , it isn’t.

——– Original Message ——–
From: - Thu Jun 26 01:28:37 2003
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!
X-Mozilla-Status: 1001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path:
Received: from smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com (smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com [66.163.168.180]) by mailhost.cotse.com (5.7.4/5.7.4) with SMTP id h5PNbxPG036363 for ; Wed, 25 Jun 2003 19:37:59 -0400 (EDT) (envelope-from service@paypal.com)
Message-Id: <200306252337.h5PNbxPG036363@mailhost.cotse.com>
Received: from h24-76-168-41.vs.shawcable.net (HELO Hicks93@Prodigy.net) (Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41 with login) by smtp-sbc-v1.mail.vip.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; 25 Jun 2003 23:37:59 -0000
Reply-To: "PayPal Service"
From: "PayPal Service"
To:
Subject: Inactive Customers
Date: Wed, 25 Jun 2003 16:37:59 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1106
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!

PayPal
Dear PayPal Customer

This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.

The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.

Please confirm your email address and password number by logging in to your PayPal account using the form below:

Email Address:
Password:

This notification expires July 31, 2003

Thanks for using PayPal!
This PayPal notification was sent to your mailbox. Your PayPal account is set up to receive the PayPal Periodical newsletter and product updates when you create your account. To modify your notification preferences and unsubscribe, go to https://www.paypal.com/PREFS-NOTI and log in to your account. Changes to your preferences may take several days to be reflected in our mailings. Replies to this email will not be processed.




Search: Cosmos | BlogPulse
Submit: Digg This | Shout this! | Slashdot
Bookmark: Del.icio.us | Furl It | Spurl | Tag!RawSugar | Simpy This! | Shadows Tag! | Blink It | My Web
GirlGeekette dotNet Tags: , , ,
Technorati Tags: , , ,
Archived in Scams , PayPal
No Comments »

Top of the Page Top of the Page









Best Buy Scam and from Doortje_Catherine

Once again, I have a received an email saying that an order I have placed at Best Buy with my credit card was noted as being suspicious. What is suspicious in this is, this is NOT from best buy. Also, note the "return" address. Rocketmail.com. I have forward this (headers and all) to Best Buys fraud department, rocketmail, and a few other places for illegal sites such as this. Please don’t fall prey to this fraud!
———————————————————————–

The email reads:

Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

——– Original Message ——–
From: - Thu Jun 19 21:24:19 2003
X-UIDL: 6jK"!h!W"!Dg<"!ZGC"!
X-Mozilla-Status: 1001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path:
Received: from 12.228.126.154 (12-228-126-154.client.attbi.com [12.228.126.154]) by tranq1.tranquility.net (8.12.9/8.11.1) with SMTP id h5K2CokW043309 for ; Thu, 19 Jun 2003 21:12:52 -0500 (CDT) (envelope-from Doortje_Catherine@rocketmail.com)
Received: from 12.228.126.154 (12.228.126.154 [12.228.126.154]) by 12.228.126.154 (8.12.6/8.12.6) with ESMTP id msbcyy977794 for ; Fri, 20 Jun 2003 01:20:48 -0400 (EST)
Message-ID:
From: "Maurine Atl"
To:
Subject: BestBuy Order #1095619. Fraud Alert.
Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2003 01:20:46 -0400 (EST)

Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.




Search: Cosmos | BlogPulse
Submit: Digg This | Shout this! | Slashdot
Bookmark: Del.icio.us | Furl It | Spurl | Tag!RawSugar | Simpy This! | Shadows Tag! | Blink It | My Web
GirlGeekette dotNet Tags: , , ,
Technorati Tags: , , , , ,
Archived in Scams , Best Buy
No Comments »

Top of the Page Top of the Page










About the Geekette

I am a Computer and Network Technician. I love what I do for a living, as my work is also my hobby.

All of the technical information from the original Aleeya.net site became this site - GirlGeekette dotNet - and the remaining became what is now known as Aleeya dotNet. This site is where I store all of my notes related to computers and Technology so I may share it with others.

  Google


Web This site

Feeds

Validations

Ratings

Computer Links

Blog Links

Security Links

Geek Links

You Are Here

You are currently browsing the Girl Geekette dotNet weblog archives for June, 2003.

Archives

Powered by WordPress with a modified version of Ragiels Dream theme.

35 queries complete in 0.230 seconds.