June, 2003
PayPal Scam from Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41
Written by The Geekette on June 29, 2003 – 3:24 pmPosted in PayPal, Scams | No Comments »
And yet another email (this time, most likely Hicks93@Prodigy.net ?) claiming to be from paypal. This one was soliciting ‘inactive customers’ that will be removed in 3 months if you do not log in with you name and password. Once again, it is bogus. Even though it CLAIMS to be from service@paypal.com , it isn’t.
——– Original Message ——–
From: - Thu Jun 26 01:28:37 2003
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!
X-Mozilla-Status: 1001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path:
Received: from smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com (smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com [66.163.168.180]) by mailhost.cotse.com (5.7.4/5.7.4) with SMTP id h5PNbxPG036363 for ; Wed, 25 Jun 2003 19:37:59 -0400 (EDT) (envelope-from service@paypal.com)
Message-Id: <200306252337.h5PNbxPG036363@mailhost.cotse.com>
Received: from h24-76-168-41.vs.shawcable.net (HELO Hicks93@Prodigy.net) (Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41 with login) by smtp-sbc-v1.mail.vip.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; 25 Jun 2003 23:37:59 -0000
Reply-To: "PayPal Service"
From: "PayPal Service"
To:
Subject: Inactive Customers
Date: Wed, 25 Jun 2003 16:37:59 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1106
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!
PayPal
Dear PayPal Customer
Best Buy Scam and from Doortje_Catherine
Written by The Geekette on June 29, 2003 – 3:21 pmPosted in Best Buy, Scams | No Comments »
Once again, I have a received an email saying that an order I have placed at Best Buy with my credit card was noted as being suspicious. What is suspicious in this is, this is NOT from best buy. Also, note the "return" address. Rocketmail.com. I have forward this (headers and all) to Best Buys fraud department, rocketmail, and a few other places for illegal sites such as this. Please don’t fall prey to this fraud!
———————————————————————–
The email reads:
Dear customer,
Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
Scam Claiming to be From Ebay
Written by The Geekette on June 9, 2003 – 3:27 pmPosted in Ebay, Scams | No Comments »
Once again, I received another Email from someone claiming to be from Ebay. As with other emails from PayPal, etc.. this is bogus. Please do NOT enter your info and send your info to this person if you are an eBay Member.
This is a copy of the email sent to me that is bogus.
Dear eBay member,
As part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website, we are undertaking a period review of our member accounts.
You are requested to visit our site by following the link given below
http://arribba.cgi3.ebay.com/aw-cgi/ebayISAPI.dll?UpdateInformationConfirm&bpuser=1
Please fill in the required information.
This is required for us to continue to offer you a safe and risk free environment to send and receive money online, and maintain the eBay Experience.
Thank you
Accounts Management
