Latest Posts »
Latest Comments »
Popular Posts »

PayPal Scam from guest@bf-l.ch

Written by The Geekette on September 20, 2005 – 3:09 pm
Posted in PayPal, Scams | 1 Comment »

Heads up, once again, there is another PayPal Scam going around that might look legitimate to some. In it, the email states you have added a new email address to your PayPal account and wants you to be aware of this. If you don’t believe it is right, it gives you a link to log in and check and protest.

The email reads:

——– Original Message ——–
From:  - Tue Sep 20 17:36:28 2005
X-Account-Key:  account3
X-UIDL:  i^N”!og["!dld!!/l/!!
X-Mozilla-Status:  0001
X-Mozilla-Status2:  00000000
Return-Path:  guest@bf-l.ch
Received:  from smtp.bf-l.ch (194-158-242-54.adslpremium.ch [194.158.242.54]) 
Tue, 20 Sep 2005 16:32:07 -0500 (CDT) (envelope-from guest@bf-l.ch)
Received:  by smtp.bf-l.ch (Postfix, from userid 520) id 307652CDC2; Tue, 20 Sep 2005 23:31:55 +0200 (CEST)
To:  kyralea@tranquility.net
Subject:  New email address added to your PayPal account !
From:  service@paypal.com
Content-Type:  text/html
Message-Id:  <20050920213155.307652CDC2@smtp.bf-l.ch>
Date:  Tue, 20 Sep 2005 23:31:55 +0200 (CEST)
X-milter-7bit-Pass:  YES
X-milter-date-PASS:  YES
X-UIDL:  i^N”!og[”!dld!!/l/!!


Tags: , ,

PayPal Scam from Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41

Written by The Geekette on June 29, 2003 – 3:24 pm
Posted in PayPal, Scams | No Comments »

And yet another email (this time, most likely Hicks93@Prodigy.net ?) claiming to be from paypal. This one was soliciting ‘inactive customers’ that will be removed in 3 months if you do not log in with you name and password. Once again, it is bogus. Even though it CLAIMS to be from service@paypal.com , it isn’t.

——– Original Message ——–
From: - Thu Jun 26 01:28:37 2003
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!
X-Mozilla-Status: 1001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path:
Received: from smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com (smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com [66.163.168.180]) by mailhost.cotse.com (5.7.4/5.7.4) with SMTP id h5PNbxPG036363 for ; Wed, 25 Jun 2003 19:37:59 -0400 (EDT) (envelope-from service@paypal.com)
Message-Id: <200306252337.h5PNbxPG036363@mailhost.cotse.com>
Received: from h24-76-168-41.vs.shawcable.net (HELO Hicks93@Prodigy.net) (Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41 with login) by smtp-sbc-v1.mail.vip.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; 25 Jun 2003 23:37:59 -0000
Reply-To: "PayPal Service"
From: "PayPal Service"
To:
Subject: Inactive Customers
Date: Wed, 25 Jun 2003 16:37:59 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1106
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!

PayPal
Dear PayPal Customer



Best Buy Scam and from Doortje_Catherine

Written by The Geekette on June 29, 2003 – 3:21 pm
Posted in Best Buy, Scams | No Comments »

Once again, I have a received an email saying that an order I have placed at Best Buy with my credit card was noted as being suspicious. What is suspicious in this is, this is NOT from best buy. Also, note the "return" address. Rocketmail.com. I have forward this (headers and all) to Best Buys fraud department, rocketmail, and a few other places for illegal sites such as this. Please don’t fall prey to this fraud!
———————————————————————–

The email reads:

Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.