Latest Posts »
Latest Comments »
Popular Posts »

PayPal Scam from guest@bf-l.ch

Written by The Geekette on September 20, 2005 – 3:09 pm
Posted in PayPal, Scams | 1 Comment »

Heads up, once again, there is another PayPal Scam going around that might look legitimate to some. In it, the email states you have added a new email address to your PayPal account and wants you to be aware of this. If you don’t believe it is right, it gives you a link to log in and check and protest.

The email reads:

——– Original Message ——–
From:  - Tue Sep 20 17:36:28 2005
X-Account-Key:  account3
X-UIDL:  i^N”!og["!dld!!/l/!!
X-Mozilla-Status:  0001
X-Mozilla-Status2:  00000000
Return-Path:  guest@bf-l.ch
Received:  from smtp.bf-l.ch (194-158-242-54.adslpremium.ch [194.158.242.54]) 
Tue, 20 Sep 2005 16:32:07 -0500 (CDT) (envelope-from guest@bf-l.ch)
Received:  by smtp.bf-l.ch (Postfix, from userid 520) id 307652CDC2; Tue, 20 Sep 2005 23:31:55 +0200 (CEST)
To:  kyralea@tranquility.net
Subject:  New email address added to your PayPal account !
From:  service@paypal.com <service@paypal.com>
Content-Type:  text/html
Message-Id:  <20050920213155.307652CDC2@smtp.bf-l.ch>
Date:  Tue, 20 Sep 2005 23:31:55 +0200 (CEST)
X-milter-7bit-Pass:  YES
X-milter-date-PASS:  YES
X-UIDL:  i^N”!og[”!dld!!/l/!!


Tags: , ,

PayPal Scam from Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41

Written by The Geekette on June 29, 2003 – 3:24 pm
Posted in PayPal, Scams | No Comments »

And yet another email (this time, most likely Hicks93@Prodigy.net ?) claiming to be from paypal. This one was soliciting ‘inactive customers’ that will be removed in 3 months if you do not log in with you name and password. Once again, it is bogus. Even though it CLAIMS to be from service@paypal.com , it isn’t.

——– Original Message ——–
From: - Thu Jun 26 01:28:37 2003
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!
X-Mozilla-Status: 1001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path:
Received: from smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com (smtp801.mail.sc5.yahoo.com [66.163.168.180]) by mailhost.cotse.com (5.7.4/5.7.4) with SMTP id h5PNbxPG036363 for ; Wed, 25 Jun 2003 19:37:59 -0400 (EDT) (envelope-from service@paypal.com)
Message-Id: <200306252337.h5PNbxPG036363@mailhost.cotse.com>
Received: from h24-76-168-41.vs.shawcable.net (HELO Hicks93@Prodigy.net) (Hicks93@Prodigy.net@24.76.168.41 with login) by smtp-sbc-v1.mail.vip.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; 25 Jun 2003 23:37:59 -0000
Reply-To: "PayPal Service"
From: "PayPal Service"
To:
Subject: Inactive Customers
Date: Wed, 25 Jun 2003 16:37:59 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1106
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
X-UIDL: A6:!!h]%"!k1O"!~>H!!

PayPal
Dear PayPal Customer



PayPal Scam from dreckis123

Written by The Geekette on May 27, 2003 – 3:17 pm
Posted in PayPal, Scams | No Comments »

To anyone that uses PayPal: If you have any questions if an email is legit or not before you reply, please contact the correct people and verify before you give out your information!

Tonight, I received an email from PayPal Service <service@paypal.com> . Upon opening it, the email looked like a PayPal webpage. Same graphics etc were used.
————————————————-
I viewed the headers to find:

Received: from dreckis123 (h24-76-168-41.vs.shawcable.net [24.76.168.41]) (authenticated bits=0) by usermail.com (8.12.8p1/8.12.6) with SMTP id h4R2PbY1006080 for ; Mon, 26 May 2003 20:29:44 -0600
————————————————-
 
The email stated:

"Dear PayPal Customer

This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.
The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.
Please confirm your email address and password number by logging in to your PayPal account using the form below":
————————————————-
 
The idea is to click on the submit button.