Once again, I have a received an email saying that an order I have placed at Best Buy with my credit card was noted as being suspicious. What is suspicious in this is, this is NOT from best buy. Also, note the "return" address. Rocketmail.com. I have forward this (headers and all) to Best Buys fraud department, rocketmail, and a few other places for illegal sites such as this. Please don’t fall prey to this fraud!
———————————————————————–
The email reads:
Dear customer,
Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html
——– Original Message ——–
From: - Thu Jun 19 21:24:19 2003
X-UIDL: 6jK"!h!W"!Dg<"!ZGC"!
X-Mozilla-Status: 1001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path:
Received: from 12.228.126.154 (12-228-126-154.client.attbi.com [12.228.126.154]) by tranq1.tranquility.net (8.12.9/8.11.1) with SMTP id h5K2CokW043309 for ; Thu, 19 Jun 2003 21:12:52 -0500 (CDT) (envelope-from Doortje_Catherine@rocketmail.com)
Received: from 12.228.126.154 (12.228.126.154 [12.228.126.154]) by 12.228.126.154 (8.12.6/8.12.6) with ESMTP id msbcyy977794 for ; Fri, 20 Jun 2003 01:20:48 -0400 (EST)
Message-ID:
From: "Maurine Atl"
To:
Subject: BestBuy Order #1095619. Fraud Alert.
Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2003 01:20:46 -0400 (EST)
Dear customer,
Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
Once again, I received another Email from someone claiming to be from Ebay. As with other emails from PayPal, etc.. this is bogus. Please do NOT enter your info and send your info to this person if you are an eBay Member.
This is a copy of the email sent to me that is bogus.
Dear eBay member,
As part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website, we are undertaking a period review of our member accounts.
You are requested to visit our site by following the link given below
http://arribba.cgi3.ebay.com/aw-CGI/ebayISAPI.dll?UpdateInformati onConfirm&bpuser=1
Please fill in the required information.
This is required for us to continue to offer you a safe and risk free environment to send and receive money online, and maintain the eBay Experience.
Thank you
Accounts Management
As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.
Copyright © 1995-2003 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.
I am a Computer and Network Technician. I love what I do for a living, as my work is also my hobby.
All of the technical information from the original Aleeya.net site became this site - GirlGeekette dotNet - and the remaining became what is now known as Aleeya dotNet. This site is where I store all of my notes related to computers and Technology so I may share it with others.
Powered by WordPress with a modified version of Ragiels Dream theme.
36 queries complete in 0.218 seconds.